Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Lucas Cleeve

Author: Lucas Cleeve (1860–1908)

Alternate Name(s): (pseudonym); Adelina Georgina Isabella Kingscote (legal name); Wolff (maiden name); Mary Walpole (pseudonym)

Biography: Novelist and travel writer. Sister of novelist Cedric Drummond Wolff. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: DNB; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Woman Who Wouldn't: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Simpkin, 1895.
  2. Epicures.  1 vol.  London: Downey, 1896.
  3. The Water-Finder.  1 vol.  London: Hutchinson, 1897.
  4. Lazarus: A Tale of the Earth's Great Miracle.  1 vol.  London: Hutchinson, 1897.
  5. The Monks of the Holy Tear.  1 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1898.
  6. Yolanda the Parisienne: A Dream of the Twentieth Century.  1 vol.  London: John Long, 1900.
  7. The World's Blackmail: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1900.
  8. What a Woman Will Do: A Society Drama.  1 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1900.
  9. Mary Anne of Parchment Buildings.  1 vol.  London: Digby, Long, 1901.
  10. As the Twig is Bent.  1 vol.  London: Digby, Long, 1901.
  11. Plato's Handmaiden.  1 vol.  London: John Long, 1901.
  12. The Real Christian.  1 vol.  London: John Long, 1901.
  13. Mostly Fools and a Duchess.  1 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1901.
  14. What Men Call Love: A Story of South Africa in the Days of Cetewayo.  1 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1901.