Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Title: The Day's Work

Author and Title: Rudyard Kipling. The Day's Work

First Edition: London: Macmillan, 1898. 1 volume, cr. 8vo., 6s.


Summary: Contains the stories "The Bridge-Builders," "A Walking Delegate," "The Ship that Found Herself," "The Tomb of his Ancestors," "The Devil and the Deep Sea," "William the Conqueror," ".007," "The Maltese Cat," "Bread upon the Waters," "An Error in the Fourth Dimension," "My Sunday at Home," and "The Brushwood Boy."

References: BL; EC


  • Search for title at The Online Books Page (please note: the search will take you out of At the Circulating Library)