Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Henry Cadwallader Adams

Author: Henry Cadwallader Adams (1817–1899)

Biography: Rev. Henry Cadwallader Adams was born in 1817 in London, son of John Adams, a serjeant-at-arms and assistant judge for Middlesex, and his second wife Jane Martin. He was educated at Westminster and Winchester College, Oxford. His younger brother was novelist Charles Warren Adams. Adams received an M.A., was ordained in the Church of England, was a fellow Magdelen College, and worked as master at Winchester School for seven years before becoming the vicar of Dry Sandford and later Old Shoreham (1878–1896). In 1852 he married Esther Edmonds. A prolific author of over two dozen titles, Adams wrote textbooks; books for boys such as The Cherry Stones: or, Charlton School (1851) and Schoolboy Honour (1861); the poetry collection The Twelve Foundations, and Other Poems (1851); histories such as Wykehamica: A History of Winchester College (1878) and The History of the Jews (1887); and the novel Frank Lawrence: or, a Young Man's Fancy (1873). He retired in 1896 and died three years later.

Author Tags:

References: Boase; Burke; DNB; The Oxford Magazine (1899); Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Cherry Stones: or, Charlton School. A Tale for Youth.  1 vol.  London: Rivington, 1851.
  2. The First of June: or, Schoolboy Rivalry. A Second Tale of Charlton School.  1 vol.  London: Rivington, 1856.
  3. Sivan the Sleeper: A Tale of All Time.  1 vol.  London: Rivington, 1857.
  4. Schoolboy Honour: A Tale of Halminster College.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1861.
  5. The Indian Boy.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1865.
  6. The White Brunswickers: or, Reminiscences of School-boy Life.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1865.
  7. Balderscourt: or, Holiday Tales.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1866.
  8. The Judges of Israel: or, Tales for Sunday Reading.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1866.
  9. Barford Bridge: or, Schoolboy Trials.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1868.
  10. The Boy Cavaliers: or, The Siege of Clidesford.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1869.
  11. Falconshurst: or, Birthday Tales.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1869.
  12. The Encombe Stories: or, Tales for Sunday Reading.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1869.
  13. Friend or Foe: A Tale of Sedgmoor.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1871.
  14. Stories for Sundays: or, Tales Illustrative of Scripture. First Series.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1871.
  15. Stories for Sundays: or, Tales Illustrative of Scripture. Second Series.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1871.
  16. The Winborough Boys: or, Ellerslie Park.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1872.
  17. The Woodleigh Stories: or, Tales for Sunday Reading.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1872.
  18. Frank Lawrence: or, A Young Man's Fancy.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1873.
  19. The Doctor's Birthday: or, The Force of Example. A Third Tale of Charlton School.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1873.
  20. Walter's Friend: or, Big Boys and Little Ones. A Fourth Tale of Charlton School.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1873.
  21. Gannet Island: or, Willie's Birthday.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1873.
  22. The Chief of the School: or, Schoolboy Ambition. A Tale of Nethercourt.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1874.
  23. Wroxby College: or, The Luscombe Prize. A Tale of Boy Life..  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1874.
  24. The Falcon Family: or, Meta and Willy. A Tale of Two Birthdays.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1874.
  25. Hair-Breadth Escapes: or, The Adventures of Three Boys in South Africa.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1877.
  26. Wilton of Cuthbert's: A Tale of Undergraduate Life Thirty Years Ago.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1878.
  27. The Boys of Westonbury: or, The Monitorial System.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1878.
  28. The Lost Rifle: or, Schoolboy Faction. A Second Tale of Nethercourt.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1880.
  29. College Days at Oxford.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1880.
  30. Who Did It?: or, Holmwood Priory.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1881.
  31. School-Days at Kingscourt: A Tale of 1803.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1881.
  32. The Mystery of Beechey Grange: or, The Missing Host. A Tale for Boys.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1884.
  33. For James or George: A Schoolboy's Tale of 1745.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1885.
  34. Who was Philip?: A Tale of Public School Life.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1886.
  35. Charlie Lucken at School and College.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1886.
  36. Perils in the Transvaal and Zululand.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1887.
  37. Ernest Hepburn: or, Revenge and Forgiveness.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1888.
  38. In the Fifteen: A Tale of the First Jacobite Insurrection.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1893.
  39. Fighting his Way: or, Leslie Rice's First Curacy. A Tale of Clerical Life.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1895.
  40. School and University: or, Dolph Woolward.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1896.