At the Circulating Library Author Information: Phoebe Anne Allen

Author: Phoebe Anne Allen (1858–1933)

Biography: Phoebe Anne Allen was born in 1858 in Hampshire. She was descended from a large landowner in the neighborhood of Rye. While still in her teens, her first novel Gilmory (1876) appeared and she followed it with numerous varied works, such as Spring and Autumn (1878), Minon: or, The Cat that the King Looked at (1887), The Mystery of Coxfolly (1908) (a tale of smugglers based on episodes in the childhood of her grandfather), and The Last Legitimate King of France (1912). According to her obituary, Allen had "a gift for conveying solid information in a light and readable fashion" and she wrote popular introductions to botany, gardening, heraldry, architecture, and philology. Allen also edited The Sunchildren's Budget: A Botanical Quarterly. She endured long-continued physical suffering during her later years and died in 1933 at her home in Ryde, the Isle of Wight.


References: Times (21 February 1933)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Gilmory: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1876.
  2. Like to a Double Cherry: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Evelyns, 1880.
  3. Asaph Wood: or, Little by Little.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1882.
  4. The Cricket Club: or, Warned Just in Time. A Story for Mothers' Meetings.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1884.
  5. Broken Hearts are Still.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1885.
  6. The Black Witch of Honeycritch.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1886.
  7. Old Iniquity: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1886.
  8. Thanksgiving Tabernacle.  1 vol.  London: A. R. Mowbray, 1888.
  9. Wanted a Camel.  1 vol.  London: Hatchard, 1888.
  10. From Life.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1889.
  11. Match-Box Phil.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1890.
  12. Two Little Victims.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1891.
  13. The Boys of Prior's Dean.  1 vol.  London: James Hogg, 1891.
  14. The Witch's Den.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1892.
  15. My Heart's Best Treasure.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1895.
  16. Whispering Tongues.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1896.
  17. May-Duke Blossoms: A Story for Mothers' Meetings.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1898.
  18. The Lips of a Fool: A Story for Mothers' Meetings.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1899.
  19. A Pennyworth of Kindness.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1900.
  20. The Forbidden Room: or, "Mine Answer was my Deed".  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1901.
  21. Mafeking Day: A Snap-shot from Real Life.  1 vol.  London: S.P.C.K., 1901.