Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Beatrice Yorke

Author: Beatrice Yorke (1843–1913)

Alternate Name(s): (pseudonym); Frances Helen Waldy (legal name)

Biography: Frances Helen Waldy was born in 1843 in Affpuddle, Dorset, the youngest daughter of the Rev. Richard Waldy. After her father died in 1869, she moved with her unmarried sisters to Ealing. While there, Waldy wrote a novella called The Alperton Ghost (1876) and a novel titled She Reigns Alone (1877) using the pseudonym "Beatrice Yorke." Waldy never married. In the 1880s she moved north to Yorkshire, settling in Scarborough, which inspired her last two novels: Bonnie Editha Copplestone (1886) and the sequel Frolic: A Scarborough Romance (1886). Unfortunately, Waldy spent her latter years in a lunatic asylum where she died in 1913.

References: British Census (1851, 1881, 1891, 1901)

Fiction Titles:

  1. She Reigns Alone.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1877.
  2. Bonnie Editha Copplestone.  1 vol.  London: E. T. W. Dennis, 1886.
  3. Frolic: A Scarborough Romance. A Sequel to "Bonnie Editha Copplestone".  1 vol.  London: Simpkin, 1887.