Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Sarah Stickney Ellis

Author: Sarah Stickney Ellis (1799–1872)

Alternate Name(s): Stickney (maiden name)

Biography: Writer and educationalist. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

References: DNB; NCBEL; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. Home: or, The Iron Rule. A Domestic Story.  3 vol.  London: Saunders and Otley, 1836.
  2. Family Secrets: or, Hints to Those Who Would Make Home Happy.  3 vol.  London: Fisher, 1843.
  3. Look to the End: or, The Bennets Abroad.  2 vol.  London: Fisher, 1845.
  4. Temper and Temperament: or, Varieties of Character.  2 vol.  London: Fisher, 1846.
  5. Social Distinctions: or, Hearts and Homes.  3 vol.  London: John Tallis, 1849.
  6. My Brother: or, The Man of Many Friends.  1 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1855.
  7. The Mother's Mistake.  1 vol.  London: Houlston and Wright, 1856.
  8. Friends at their own Fireside: or, Pictures of the Private Life of the People called Quakers.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1858.
  9. The Widow Green and Her Three Nieces.  1 vol.  London: Partridge, 1859.
  10. Self-Deception: or, The History of a Human Heart.  2 vol.  London: John Tallis, 1860.
  11. The Brewer's Family.  1 vol.  London: William Beeman, 1863.
  12. Share and Share Alike: or, The Grand Principle.  1 vol.  London: Jackson, Walford and Hodder, 1865.
  13. Northern Roses: A Yorkshire Story.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1868.
  14. The Melvill Family and Their Bible Readings.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Johnstone, Hunter, and Co., 1872.