At the Circulating Library Author Information: Vane Ireton St. John

Author: Vane Ireton St. John (1839–1911)

Biography: Journalist, author, and editor. Son of James Augustus St. John. See entry in DNB.


References: DNB (under Sir Spencer Buckingham St. John)

Fiction Titles:

  1. St. Eustace: or, The Hundred-and-One. A Novel.  3 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1857.
  2. Under-Currents: A Novel of Our Day.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1860.
  3. The Chain of Destiny: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Ward, Lock, 1862.
  4. The Roadside Inn: Founded upon the Populuar Drama Performed at the Royal Lyceum Theatre.  1 vol.  London: C. H. Clarke, 1866.
  5. The Young Apprentice: or, The Watch-words of Old London.  1 vol.  London: Newsagents' Publishing Co., 1868.
  6. Who Shall be Leader?: The Story of Two Boys' Lives.  1 vol.  London: Office of The Boys of England, 1870.
  7. The Rival Apprentices: A Tale of the Riots of 1780.  1 vol.  London: Office of The Boys of England, 1870.
  8. Rupert Dreadnought: or, The Secrets of the Iron Chest.  1 vol.  London: Edwin J. Brett, 1870.
  9. The Night-Guard: or, The Secret of the Five Masks.  1 vol.  London: Edwin J. Brett, 1875.
  10. The Rightful Heir: A Romance of the Days of Good Queen Bess.  1 vol.  London: Office of The Boys of England, 1875.