Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Clara Louisa Antrobus

Author: Clara Louisa Antrobus (1846–1919)

Alternate Name(s): Rogers (maiden name)

Biography: Clara Louisa Antrobus was born in Grantham, Lincolnshire, the daughter of a surgeon Newcome Rogers and his wife Margaret Hunnings. She spent her childhood in Bowden in Cheshire, the setting of much of her later works. She married Arthur John Antrobus in 1871 but became a widow the following year. Relatively late in life, she became an author. Her titles include: Wildersmoor (1895); Quality Corner (1901); The Wine of Finvarra (1902), a collection of short stories; and The Stone Ezel (1910). As her obituary observed, she "excelled in presenting [the] sad and wistful aspects of life, and in scenic descriptions, particularly of woods and moorland."

References: Times (12 February 1919)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Wildersmoor: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1895.
  2. Quality Corner: A Study of Remorse.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1901.