Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Augusta A. Varty-Smith

Author: Augusta A. Varty-Smith (1849–1941)

Alternate Name(s): Säimath (pseudonym)

Biography: Augusta Ann Varty-Smith (sometime Varty Smith) was born in 1849 in Edenhall, Cumberland. She wrote three novels: The Fawcetts and Garods (1886) under the pseudonym "Säimath," Matthew Tindale (1891), and (late in life) She was his Wife (1936). Reviewers found her first two novels good imitations of George Eliot and Prime Minister William Gladstone read and approved of Matthew Tindale. Varty-Smith never married, lived her whole life in Cumberland, and died in 1941.

References: British Census (1881, 1901, 1911); Leeds Mercury (22 June 1892)

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Fawcetts and Garods: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: John Maxwell, 1886.
  2. Matthew Tindale.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1891.