Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Alice Weber

Author: Alice Weber (1845–1931)

Biography: Alice Weber was born in 1845 in London, the eldest child of an East India merchant Charles Frederick Weber. After the death of her father, she lived with her widowed mother and younger sisters and began writing novels beginning with At Sixes and Sevens (1877). In all, she wrote over a dozen novels aimed at an audience of young adults. Weber never married and lived with her unmarried sisters until her death in 1931.

References: British Census (1871, 1881, 1891, 1911); Probate

Fiction Titles:

  1. At Sixes and Sevens.  1 vol.  London: Mozley and Co., 1877.
  2. Miles Harling.  2 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1880.
  3. Two Life-Stories.  1 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1882.
  4. The Old House in the Square.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1884.
  5. Hester Tracy: A Schoolroom Story.  1 vol.  London: Hatchard, 1884.
  6. Curly's Victory.  1 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1887.
  7. Angela: A Sketch.  1 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1888.
  8. When I'm a Man: or, Little Saint Christopher.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1888.
  9. For Auld Lang Syne: A Nineteenth Century Story.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1889.
  10. In the Spring-Time: A Story in Four Parts.  1 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1889.
  11. Leal Souvenir.  1 vol.  London: Walter Smith, 1890.
  12. Florence: A Story of Beginnings.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1890.
  13. The Clock on the Stairs.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1892.
  14. An Affair of Honour.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1892.