Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Edith E. Cuthell

Author: Edith E. Cuthell (1853–1929)

Alternate Name(s): Foster (maiden name)

Biography: Edith E. Cuthell was born in 1853 at Sandy Place, Sandy, Bedfordshire, the daughter of John N. Foster, J.P. She married Lt. Col. Thomas George Cuthell of the 38th Foot and later the 13th Hussars. She spent a number of years in India before settling in Surrey, and many of her works feature India as a setting. Cuthell's books include the childrens stories Little Nellie's Days in India (1883) and In the Mutiny Days (1892); the short story collections Indian Idylls, by an Idle Exile (1890) and In Camp and Cantonment: Stories of Foreign Service (1897); the memoir My Garden in the City of Gardens (1905); and biographies later in life. Her novels include A Baireuth Pilgrimage (1894) (which features a violinist and the composer Wagner) and Sweet Irish Eyes (1897). Her husband died in 1917 and she followed in 1929.

References: British Census (1891); Times (2 February 1929)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Indian Pets and Playmates.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1891.
  2. In Tent and Bungalow.  1 vol.  London: Methuen, 1892.
  3. Only a Guard-Room Dog.  1 vol.  London: Methuen, 1892.
  4. By a Himalayan Lake.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Downey, 1893.
  5. The Robber Baron of Bedford Castle: A Story of the 13th Century.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Nelson and Sons, 1893.
  6. Lady Lorrimer's Scheme, and The Story of a Glamour.  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1893.
  7. A Baireuth Pilgrimage.  2 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1894.
  8. Two Little Children and Ching.  1 vol.  London: Methuen, 1894.
  9. The Wee Widow's Cruise in Quiet Waters.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Downey, 1895.
  10. Caught by a Cook.  1 vol.  London: Horace Cox, 1895.
  11. Sweet Irish Eyes: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Skeffington, 1897.
  12. In Camp and Cantonment: Stories of Foreign Service.  1 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1897.
  13. A Bad Little Girl and her Good Little Brother.  1 vol.  London: S. P. C. K., 1898.
  14. The Skipper: The Story of an Old Sea Dog.  1 vol.  London: Blackie, 1899.