Author: Julia Augusta Tilt

Author: Julia Augusta Tilt (1817–1871)

Biography: Julia Augusta Tilt was born in 1817 in Brighton, the daughter of Thomas Tilt (1774–1833). She wrote five collections of poetry beginning with Poems and Ballads (1847) and ending with the patriotic Lays of Alma and Other Poems (1856) (the last included an impressive list of subscribers). She then turned to novels, producing five between 1856 and 1862. In 1861, she received a £30 civil list pension "in consideration of her literary merit." Thereafter she stopped writing. She never married and died in 1871.

References: British Census (1841); Lloyd's Weekly Newspaper (21 July 1861); Pall Mall Gazette (17 November 1871)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Laura Talbot: or, The Realities of Life.  1 vol.  London: Edward Churton, 1855.
  2. May Hamilton: An Autobiography.  1 vol.  London: L. Booth, 1857.
  3. The Old Palace: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1858.
  4. Millicent Neville: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: L. Booth, 1859.
  5. The Countess Dowager: A Sequel to The Old Palace.  1 vol.  London: L. Booth, 1862.

How to Cite