Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Magdalen Harriet Mary Capes

Author: Magdalen Harriet Mary Capes (1843–1927)

Alternate Name(s): Magdalen Brooke (pseudonym); M. Harriet M. Capes (familiar name)

Biography: Sister of novelist Bernard Capes (1854–1918). Capes wrote children's books, worked as a translator, and promoted the Sunday School movement. She was also a friend of novelist Joseph Conrad. The Story of Eleanor Lambert (1891) was her only book for adults. She never married and died in 1927. NB: Several sources list mistaken birth and death dates for this author. She is sometimes confused with another author, Harriet Mary Capes, due to a similar name.

Author Tags:

References: British Census (1881, 1891, 1901); Kemp (Bernard Capes); Sutherland (Bernard Capes)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Two Little Brothers.  1 vol.  London: Blackie, 1885.
  2. The Wise Princess, and Other Stories.  1 vol.  London: Blackie, 1887.
  3. Sylvia Brooke.  1 vol.  London: Blackie, 1888.
  4. A Change for the Worse: or, The Lesson of a Day.  1 vol.  London: Blackie, 1890.
  5. The Story of Eleanor Lambert.  1 vol.  London: T. Fisher Unwin, 1891.
  6. Loyal to his Trust.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1894.
  7. The Little Runaways.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1896.