Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Maggie Swan

Author: Maggie Swan (1867–1935)

Alternate Name(s): Margaret Swan (legal name); Campbell (married name)

Biography: Maggie Swan was born in 1867 at Leith, Edinburgh, the daughter of Edward Swan, merchant and farmer, and his first wife Euphemia Brown. Her elder sister was the novelist Annie S. Swan. She and her sister attended Edinburgh Ladies’ College, Queen Street. Swan began contributing poetry at an early age to the People’s Journal and contributed sketches, poetry, and short stories to the People’s Friend, Dundee Weekly News, Young Woman, Sunday Magazine, and the Christian Leader. In total, she published six novels but ended her florishing literary career prior to her marriage. In 1898 she married Church of Scotland minister John Campbell and the couple had four children. She died in 1935 at her residence, 9 Chalmers Street, Edinburgh. (CL, TJB)

Author Tags:

References: Evening Telegraph (4 August 1898); Modern Scottish Poets (10th series; D.H. Edwards, 1887)

Fiction Titles:

  1. A Way in the Wilderness.  1 vol.  London: Partridge, 1892.
  2. For the Sake o' the Siller: A Fifeshire Story of Forty Years Ago.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1893.
  3. Through Love to Repentance.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1894.
  4. A Late Awakening.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Lock, 1895.
  5. Life's Blindfold Game.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1895.
  6. A Neglected Privilege: The Story of a Modern Woman.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Lock, 1896.