Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: M. M. Bell

Author: M. M. Bell (birth and death dates unknown)

Alternate Name(s): (pseudonym?)

Biography: An author often conflated with Mary Letitia Martin even though Bell's fiction postdates Martin's death.

Fiction Titles:

  1. Eda Morton and her Cousins: or, School-room Days.  1 vol.  London: John Ollivier, 1848.
  2. Deeds, not Words: or, The Flemings of Dunaik. A Domestic Tale.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1857.
  3. The Secret of a Life.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1858.
  4. Doctor Weld: or, The Web of Life.  2 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1866.
  5. Seven to Seventeen: or, Veronica Gordon.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1873.
  6. The Admiral's Will: A Tale with a Purpose.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1878.