Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Yotty Osborn

Author: Yotty Osborn (1852–1882)

Alternate Name(s): Harriet Jane Osborn (maiden name); Pulteney (married name)

Biography: Harriet Jane Osborn was born in 1852 in Belgium, the daughter of Sir George Robert Osborn, 6th Baronet of Chicksands Priory (died 1892), and his wife Lady Charlotte Elizabeth Kerr, the daughter of Lord Mark Kerr and Lady Charlotte McDonnell, Countess of Antrim. Beginning with the children's book Two Little Turks (1877), she wrote several novels aimed at young adult readers under the name "Yotty Osborn" (presumably a nickname). In 1881, she married Francis Basil Pulteney. She died shortly after in 1882. Her last book Clifford's Trial (1884) was edited by her sister Emily Osborn, herself the author of one novel.

Author Tags:

References: Burke; pers inf (Roger W. Ward)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Two Little Turks: or, Getting into Mischief. A Story for Very Small Children.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1877.
  2. Pickles: A Funny Little Couple.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1878.
  3. Judy: or, Only a Little Girl.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1880.
  4. Jack: A Chapter in a Boy's Life.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1880.
  5. The Lyon's Den and Its Eight Young Lyons.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1881.
  6. Garrick: or, His Own Fault.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1882.
  7. Clifford's Trial: or, The Conquest of Patience.  1 vol.  London: Hatchards, 1884.