Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Agnes M. Stewart

Author: Agnes M. Stewart (1816–1887)

Alternate Name(s): Agnes Magdalene Stewart (legal name)

Biography: Agnes Magdalene Stewart was born on 31 October 1816, the daughter of James Steward. Her younger sister was the novelist Mary Hibbert-Ware. An ardent Catholic, Stewart, prevented in joining a convent by ill health, instead wrote many religious works including fiction. For her efforts, Pope Pius IX twice sent her his special blessing. She never married and spent much of her later life living with her sister in Bowdon. She died there in October 1887.

Author Tags:

References: British Census (1881); Dublin Weekly Nation (12 November 1887); Loeber

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Cousins: or, Pride and Vanity.  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1849.
  2. The Heiress: or, Education and Accomplishment.  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1850.
  3. Justice and Mercy: or, A Tale of All-Hallows E'en.  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1858.
  4. Eustace: or, Self-Devotion. A Sequel to "Gerald".  1 vol.  London: Charles Dolman, 1860.
  5. Alone in the World.  1 vol.  London: Burns and Oates, 1870.
  6. Margaret Roper: or, The Chancellor and his Daughter.  1 vol.  London: Burns and Oates, 1874.
  7. Earl Nugent's Daughter: or, The Last Days of the Penal Laws. A True Story.  1 vol.  London: Burns and Oates, 1883.
  8. The Last Abbot of Thornton: or, Lord Wake of Baynard Castle.  1 vol.  London: Burns and Oates, 1887.