Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Marion Andrews

Author: Marion Andrews (1839–1929)

Alternate Name(s): Christopher Hare (pseudonym); Hare (maiden name)

Biography: Marion Andrews was born in 1839 in London, the eldest daughter of Thomas Hare, the author several legal and political works. She married the Rev. W. R. Andrews the rector of Teffont, Wiltshire. Early in her career, she wrote fiction then shifted to historical and biographical works. She died in 1929 in Eastbourne.

References: British Census (1891); Times (2 April 1929)

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Quest of Jack Hazelwood.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1891.
  2. Cousin Isabel: A Tale of the Siege of Londonderry.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1892.
  3. A Loyal Heart: A Tale of the Cornish Coast.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1895.
  4. Countess Helena.  1 vol.  London: Wells Gardner, Darton, 1896.
  5. Down the Village Street: Scenes in a West Country Hamlet.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1896.
  6. As We Sow: A West Country Drama.  1 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1897.
  7. The Child of the Lighthouse: A Tale of the Great War.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1898.
  8. Broken Arcs: A West Country Chronicle.  1 vol.  London: Harper and Bros., 1898.
  9. Sylvia's Romance.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1900.
  10. The Life Story of Dinah Kellow.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Lock, 1901.
  11. How Cynthia Went A-Maying: A Romance of Long Ago Wherein the Siege of Wardour Castle is Truly Chronicled.  1 vol.  London: William Isbister, 1901.