Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Mary Elizabeth Whatham

Author: Mary Elizabeth Whatham (1851–1926)

Alternate Name(s): M. E. Winchester (pseudonym)

Biography: Mary Elizabeth Whatham was born in 1851 in Liverpool, the daugher of spice merchant William Whatham and his wife Mary Eliza. In the 1880s, she turned her hand to fiction under the name "M. E. Winchester," producing a number of works aimed at young adult readers over the next decades. Judging by the censuses, she never strayed far from her native Liverpool. She never married and died on 4 November 1926 in Liverpool. Note: several sources erroneously identify the author as "Margaret E. Whatham".

References: British Census (1861, 1871, 1881); Liverpool Daily Post (8 November 1926); Probate

Fiction Titles:

  1. A Nest of Sparrows.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1881.
  2. Under the Shield: A Tale.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1882.
  3. A Wayside Snowdrop.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1883.
  4. The Cabin on the Beach: A Tale.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1884.
  5. Lost Maggie: or, A Basket of Roses.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1885.
  6. A Crippled Robin.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1885.
  7. A City Violet.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1885.
  8. Pearl of the Sea: A Tale.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1887.
  9. The Witch of the Rocks.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1887.
  10. City Snowdrops: or, The House of Flowers.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1888.
  11. Adrift in the Great City: A Story.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1893.
  12. A Double Cherry: A Story.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1895.
  13. A Nest of Skylarks: A Story.  1 vol.  London: Seeley, 1898.
  14. Tempest-tossed: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Digby, Long, 1899.
  15. Little King Rannie, the Missing Heir of Camberley: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Digby, Long, 1899.
  16. A Romance of the Unseen: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Digby, Long, 1900.