Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Alice Vansittart Carr

Author: Alice Vansittart Carr (1850–1927)

Alternate Name(s): Strettel (maiden name); Mrs. J. Comyns Carr (married name)

Biography: Alice Laura Vansittart Carr was born in 1850. She married Joseph Comyns Carr (1849–1916), an art gallery director, theatre manager, and author. She wrote a number of novels as well as travel books. She died in 1927 in London.

References: DNB (J. Comyns Carr); Times (13 October 1927)

Fiction Titles:

  1. A Story of Autumn.  1 vol.  London: Remington, 1881.
  2. Lucrezia and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Remington, 1882.
  3. La Fortunina.  3 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1884.
  4. Kate Percival.  1 vol.  Bristol: Arrowsmith, 1886.
  5. Margaret Maliphant: A Novel.  3 vol.  Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1889.
  6. Buried in the Breakers: or, Paul Crew's Story.  1 vol.  London: David Stott, 1891.
  7. Lily and Water-Lily.  1 vol.  London: A. D. Innes, 1893.
  8. A Model Wife and Other Stories.  1 vol.  London: George Allen, 1894.
  9. Cottage Folk.  1 vol.  London: William Heinemann, 1897.
  10. The Arm of the Lord.  1 vol.  London: Duckworth and Co., 1899.