Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Isabella Mayo

Author: Isabella Mayo (1843–1914)

Alternate Name(s): Fyvie (maiden name); Edward Garrett (pseudonym)

Biography: Novelist and essayist. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

References: DNB; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Occupations of a Retired Life: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1868.
  2. The Crust and the Cake.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1869.
  3. Premiums Paid to Experience: Incidents in my Business Life.  2 vol.  London: Alexander Strahan, 1872.
  4. Seen and Heard.  3 vol.  London: Alexander Strahan, 1872.
  5. Crooked Places: A Family Chronicle.  3 vol.  London: Alexander Strahan, 1873.
  6. By Still Waters: A Story for Quiet Hours.  1 vol.  London: Henry S. King, 1874.
  7. Gold and Dross.  1 vol.  London: William Isbister, 1874.
  8. The Capel Girls: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1876.
  9. Doing and Dreaming: A Tale for the Young.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: W. P. Nimmo, 1877.
  10. One New Year's Night and Other Stories.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: William Oliphant and Co., 1878.
  11. The Magic Flower-Pot, and Other Stories.  1 vol.  London: Cassell, 1878.
  12. The House by the Works: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1879.
  13. Family Fortunes: A Domestic Story.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Nelson and Sons, 1881.
  14. Mrs. Raven's Temptation: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1882.
  15. Her Object in Life.  1 vol.  London: The Girl's Own Paper Office, 1884.
  16. The Mystery of Allan Grale: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1885.
  17. At Any Cost.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1885.
  18. The Family Council: Conversations on the Events of Home.  1 vol.  London: James Nisbet, 1886.
  19. Equal to the Occasion.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1887.
  20. Not by Bread Alone.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1890.
  21. John Winter: A Story of Harvests.  1 vol.  London: Partridge, 1890.
  22. Rab Bethune's Double: or, Life's Long Battle Won.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1894.
  23. A Black Diamond: or, The Best and the Worst of It.  1 vol.  London: Home Words Publishing Office, 1894.
  24. Her Day of Service.  1 vol.  London: Oliphant, 1894.
  25. A Daughter of the Klephts: or, A Girl of Modern Greece.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: W. & R. Chambers, 1897.
  26. A Nine Days' Wonder: or, The Mystery in the House. A Tale of the Turf.  1 vol.  London: Home Words Publishing Office, 1897.
  27. Other People's Stairs.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1898.
  28. Chrystal Joyce: The Story of a Golden Life.  1 vol.  London: Partridge, 1899.