Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Rosa Caroline Praed

Author: Rosa Caroline Praed (1851–1935)

Alternate Name(s): Murray-Prior (maiden name); Mrs. Campbell Praed (familiar name)

Biography: Australian novelist. She also co-authored three novels with Justin McCarthy. See entry in ADB, DNB, or Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: ADB; DNB; NCBEL; Sutherland; Chris Tiffin, Rosa Praed (Mrs Campbell Praed), 1851-1935 : A Bibliography (University of Queensland, 1989)

Fiction Titles:

  1. An Australian Heroine.  3 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1880.
  2. Policy and Passion: A Novel of Australian Life.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1881.
  3. Nadine: The Study of a Woman.  2 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1882.
  4. Moloch: A Story of Sacrifice.  3 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1883.
  5. Zéro: A Story of Monte Carlo.  2 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1884.
  6. The Head Station: A Novel of Australian Life.  3 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1885.
  7. Affinities: A Romance of Today.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1885.
  8. Miss Jacobsen's Chance: A Story of Australian Life.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1886.
  9. The Brother of the Shadow: A Mystery of To-day.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1886.
  10. The Bond of Wedlock: A Tale of London Life.  2 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1887.
  11. The Romance of a Station.  2 vol.  London: Trischler, 1889.
  12. The Soul of Countess Adrian: A Romance.  1 vol.  London: Trischler, 1891.
  13. The Romance of a Châlet: A Story.  2 vol.  London: F. V. White, 1892.
  14. Outlaw and Lawmaker.  3 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1893.
  15. December Roses.  1 vol.  Bristol: Arrowsmith, 1893.
  16. Christina Chard: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1894.
  17. Mrs. Tregaskiss: A Novel of Anglo-Australian Life.  3 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1896.
  18. Nùlma.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1897.
  19. The Scourge-Stick.  1 vol.  London: William Heinemann, 1898.
  20. Madam Izàn: A Tourist Story.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1899.
  21. As a Watch in the Night: A Drama of Waking and Dream, in Five Acts.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1901.