At the Circulating Library Author Information: Janet Maughan

Author: Janet Maughan (1828–1926)

Alternate Name(s): Story (married name)

Biography: Janet Maughan was born in 1828 in Bombay, the daughter of Capt. Philip Maughan, of the East India Company, and his third wife Elizabeth Arnott. As a young woman, she began writing fiction with the novel Charley Nugent: or, Passages in the Life of a Sub (1860) and followed with half-a-dozen more. She had, according to herself, resigned to spinsterhood when she met and married the Rev. Robert Herbert Story (1835–1907), then the minister of Rosneath, in 1863. The couple had two daughters. The couple spend the next twenty years in the Clydeside parish before moving to Glasgow where her husband took a position at Glasgow University. She spent her widowhood writing two memoirs published in 1911 and 1913. She died in 1926 in Glasgow.

References: Times (13 September 1926)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Charley Nugent: or, Passages in the Life of a Sub.  3 vol.  London: Saunders and Otley, 1860.
  2. The St. Aubyns of St. Aubyn.  2 vol.  Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1862.
  3. Richard Langdon: or, Foreshadowed. A Novel.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: R. Grant and Son, 1863.
  4. The Co-Heiress: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1866.
  5. The Man of Mark.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1866.
  6. Equal to Either Fortune: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1869.
  7. Kitty Fisher, the Orange Girl.  1 vol.  Glasgow: John S. Marr and Sons, 1881.