Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Earl of Desart

Author: Earl of Desart (1845–1898)

Alternate Name(s): (title); William Ulick O'Connor Cuffe (legal name)

Biography: Irish peer and novelist. See entry in Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: Burke; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. Only a Woman's Love.  2 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1869.
  2. Beyond These Voices: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1870.
  3. Children of Nature: A Story of Modern London.  2 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1878.
  4. Kelverdale: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1879.
  5. The Honourable Ella: A Tale of Foxshire.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1879.
  6. Mervyn O'Connor, and Other Tales.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1880.
  7. Lord and Lady Piccadilly.  3 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1887.
  8. Love and Pride on an Iceberg, and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1887.
  9. Herne Lodge.  2 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1888.
  10. The Little Chatelaine.  3 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1889.
  11. Helen's Vow: or, A Freak of Fate.  2 vol.  London: Swan Sonnenschein, 1891.
  12. Grandborough: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1894.
  13. The Raid of the "Detrimental": Being the True History of the Great Disappearance of 1862.  1 vol.  London: C. Arthur Pearson, 1897.