Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Title Tag: Author Series: Wessex Novels

Description: The following novels by Thomas Hardy are all set in the fictional south-western counties of Wessex (based mainly on Dorset).

References: Sutherland

  1. Thomas Hardy.  Under the Greenwood Tree: A Rural Painting of the Dutch School.  2 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1872.
  2. Thomas Hardy.  A Pair of Blue Eyes: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1873.
  3. Thomas Hardy.  Far from the Madding Crowd.  2 vol.  London: Smith, Elder, 1874.
  4. Thomas Hardy.  The Return of the Native.  3 vol.  London: Smith, Elder, 1878.
  5. Thomas Hardy.  The Mayor of Casterbridge: The Life and Death of a Man of Character.  2 vol.  London: Smith, Elder, 1886.
  6. Thomas Hardy.  The Woodlanders.  3 vol.  London: Macmillan, 1887.
  7. Thomas Hardy.  Wessex Tales: Strange, Lively, and Commonplace.  2 vol.  London: Macmillan, 1888.
  8. Thomas Hardy.  Tess of the D'Urbervilles: A Pure Woman.  3 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1891.
  9. Thomas Hardy.  Jude the Obscure.  1 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1896.
  10. Thomas Hardy.  The Well-Beloved: A Sketch of a Temperment.  1 vol.  London: Osgood, McIlvaine, 1897.