Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Publisher: Smith, Elder in 1886

Titles published by Smith, Elder in the year 1886:

  1. F. Anstey.  A Fallen Idol.  1 vol.
  2. Sabine Baring-Gould.  Court Royal: A Story of Cross Currents.  3 vol.
  3. George Gissing.  Demos: A Story of English Socialism.  3 vol.
  4. Thomas Hardy.  The Mayor of Casterbridge: The Life and Death of a Man of Character.  2 vol.
  5. Margaret Wolfe Hungerford.  Lady Branksmere.  3 vol.
  6. Margaret Wolfe Hungerford.  Green Pleasure and Grey Grief.  3 vol.
  7. Mary Elizabeth Mann.  Mrs. Peter Howard.  2 vol.
  8. James Payn.  The Heir of the Ages.  3 vol.