Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Frances Cashel Hoey

Author: Frances Cashel Hoey (1830–1908)

Alternate Name(s): Frances Sarah Johnston (maiden name)

Biography: Novelist. See entry in DNB or Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: DNB; P.D. Edwards, Frances Cashel Hoey 1830–1908: A Bibliography (University of Queensland, 1982); Loeber; Sutherland

Fiction Titles:

  1. A House of Cards: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1868.
  2. Falsely True: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Tinsley Brothers, 1870.
  3. A Golden Sorrow.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1872.
  4. Buried in the Deep and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1872.
  5. Out of Court.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1874.
  6. The Blossoming of an Aloe and The Queen's Token.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1875.
  7. Griffith's Double.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1876.
  8. No Sign and Other Tales.  1 vol.  London: Ward and Lock, 1876.
  9. All, or Nothing.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1879.
  10. What Might Have Been. From the French.  1 vol.  London: Burns and Oates, 1881.
  11. The Question of Cain.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1882.
  12. The Lover's Creed.  3 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1884.
  13. A Stern Chase: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1886.