Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Edward Gomersall Charlesworth

Author: Edward Gomersall Charlesworth (1830–1900)

Biography: Rev. Edward Gomersall Charlesworth was born in 1830 in Leeds, Yorkshire. He attended St. Bees in Cumbria, was ordained in 1852, and became the vicar of West Acklam, Yorkshire, in 1865. He published a collection of poems in 1856 and three novels: A Broken Heart (1873), Ironopolis (1874), and Chronicles of the Coniston Family (1887). Charlesworth lived his whole life in his native Yorkshire and died in 1900.

Author Tags:

References: Allibone; British Census (1881)

Fiction Titles:

  1. A Broken Heart: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: T. C. Newby, 1873.
  2. Ironopolis: A Novel.  2 vol.  London: Morgan and Hebron, 1874.
  3. Chronicles of the Coniston Family.  1 vol.  London: Elliot Stock, 1887.