Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Bertha Thomas

Author: Bertha Thomas (1845–1918)

Biography: Bertha Thomas was born in 1845 in Shelsley, Worcestershire, the daughter of Canon John Thomas (d. 1883). She trained as an artist before turning to literature, writing seven novels, many of which were serialized in London Society. From the 1880s, she lived in London, sometimes with her unmarried sister Frances Olivia, a musician. She never married and died in 1918.

References: British Census (1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, 1911); Probate; Times (19 June 1883); Wellesley

Fiction Titles:

  1. Proud Maisie.  3 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1877.
  2. Cressida.  3 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1878.
  3. The Violin-Player: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1880.
  4. In a Cathedral City: A Tale.  2 vol.  London: Bentley, 1882.
  5. Ichabod: A Portrait.  2 vol.  London: T. Fisher Unwin, 1885.
  6. Elizabeth's Fortune.  3 vol.  London: Bentley, 1887.
  7. Sundorne.  2 vol.  London: Chapman and Hall, 1890.
  8. The House on the Scar: A Tale of South Devon.  1 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1890.
  9. Camera Lucida: or, Strange Passages in Common Life.  1 vol.  London: Sampson Low, 1897.
  10. The Son of the House.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1900.