Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Charles James Wills

Author: Charles James Wills (1842–1912)

Biography: Physician, traveller, and author. Co-wrote four novels with F. C. Philips. See entry in Sutherland.

Author Tags:

References: Sutherland; Who's Who (1910)

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Pit Town Coronet: A Family Mystery.  3 vol.  London: Ward and Downey, 1888.
  2. The Great Dorémi: Being the Life Romance of Antonio Pisani, the Last of his Line.  1 vol.  London: Gardner and Co., 1890.
  3. Jardyne's Wife: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Trischler, 1891.
  4. John Squire's Secret: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Ward and Downey, 1891.
  5. Was he Justified?: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Spencer Blackett, 1891.
  6. Laura Ruthven's Widowhood.  3 vol.  London: Lawrence and Bullen, 1892.
  7. His Sister's Hand: A Novel.  3 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1892.
  8. In and about Bohemia: Being Forty-one Short Stories.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1892.
  9. Her Portrait: or, Phillida's Fortunes. A Story told with Pen and Pencil.  1 vol.  London: Griffith and Farran, 1893.
  10. Behind an Eastern Veil: A Plain Tale of Events Occuring in the Experience of a Lady.  1 vol.  Edinburgh: Blackwood, 1894.
  11. An Easy-Going Fellow.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1896.
  12. His Dead Past.  1 vol.  London: Chatto and Windus, 1897.
  13. The Yoke of Steel: A Novel.  1 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1897.