Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Emily Grace Harding

Author: Emily Grace Harding (1857–1904)

Biography: Emily Grace Harding was born in 1857, the daughter of clergyman John Harding and his wife Louise (née Elmer). She attended a school in Bristol before living in Wiltshire with her father, then vicar of Martin. She began writing fiction in her twenties beginning with Leoline (1877). She never married and lived her life with one or more relatives. She died on 11 July 1904 in Westward Ho.

References: British Census (1871, 1881, 1891, 1901); Probate; Salisbury Journal (17 March 1894)

Fiction Titles:

  1. Leoline: or, Captured and Rescued. A Story.  1 vol.  London: J. F. Shaw, 1877.
  2. A Mountain Daisy.  3 vol.  London: Samuel Tinsley, 1879.
  3. Hazel: or, Perilpoint Lighthouse.  1 vol.  London: Walter Scott, 1885.
  4. "Robin's Promise": A Story Founded upon Fact.  1 vol.  London: Wells, Gardner, Darton, 1889.
  5. A Noble Sacrifice: A Temperance Tale.  1 vol.  London: Walter Scott, 1893.
  6. A Brave Surrender: or, Honour's Reward.  1 vol.  London: Walter Scott, 1895.