Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Title: In Deacon's Orders, etc.

Author and Title: Walter Besant. In Deacon's Orders, etc.

First Edition: London: Chatto and Windus, 1895. 1 volume, cr. 8vo., 6s.


Summary: Contains the short stories "In Deacon's Orders," "Peer and Heiress," "The Equal Women," "The Shrinking Shoe," "Quarantine Island," "In Three Weeks," "One and Two," "A Night with Tantalus," "The Solid Gold Reef Company Ltd.," "To the Third and Fourth Generation," and "King David's Friend."

References: BL; EC


  • Search for title at The Online Books Page (please note: the search will take you out of At the Circulating Library)