Small image of a man handing a book to a women across a counter.

At the Circulating Library

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

A Database of Victorian Fiction, 1837–1901

Author: Susanna Mary Paull

Author: Susanna Mary Paull (1812–1888)

Alternate Name(s): Peakome (maiden name); Mrs. H. B. Paull (familiar name)

Biography: Susanna Mary Paull was born in 1812 in London, the daughter of the successful saddler William Peakome. In 1839, she married Henry Hugh Beams Paull and the couple had no children. Her husband attended Oxford but does not seem to have had a settled profession. In fact, by 1848, he faced financial difficulties and bankruptcy. Shortly thereafter (presumably to support herself), Paull began writing fiction with The Doctor's Vision: An Allegory (1855) and she produced numerous religious-themed novels and children's books. In addition, she translated the fairy tales of Hans Christian Anderson and the Grimm brothers. By 1871, it appears she lived separate from her husband. She died in 1888.

References: Alumni Oxonienses; British Census (1871, 1881)

Fiction Titles:

  1. The Doctor's Vision: An Allegory.  1 vol.  London: Bell and Daldy, 1855.
  2. Lucy West: or, The Orphans of Highcliff.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1866.
  3. The Means and the End: or, The Chaplain's Secret. A Tale in which Ritualism and its Errors are Traced.  1 vol.  London: Houlston and Co., 1867.
  4. Mary Elton: or, Self-Control.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1869.
  5. Pride and Principle: or, The Captain of Elvoden School.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1869.
  6. Tom Watson: or, The Law of Kindness.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1869.
  7. Miss Herbert's Key's: or, Honesty in Little Thinks.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1871.
  8. Trevor Court.  3 vol.  London: Hurst and Blackett, 1872.
  9. Breaking the Rules: A Tale of School-boy Life.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1872.
  10. Margaret Ford: or, What a Young Girl Can Do.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1872.
  11. Mabel's School Days.  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1872.
  12. Dora's Difficulty: or, "Charity doth not behave itself unseemly".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1874.
  13. Horace Carleton: or, "Charity vaunteth not itself.  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1874.
  14. Evelyn Howard: or, Early Friendships.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1875.
  15. The Two Neighbours: A Tale of Domestic Life.  1 vol.  London: Houlston and Co., 1875.
  16. Dick the Sailor: A Tale of the Press-Gang.  1 vol.  London: William Macintosh, 1875.
  17. Frank Merton's Conquest: or, "Charity is not easily provoked".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1876.
  18. School-Day Memories: or, "Charity envieth not".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1876.
  19. Ethel Seymour: or, "Charity hopeth all things".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1876.
  20. Oakfield Lodge: or, "Charity seeketh not her own".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1876.
  21. Walter's Mistake: or, One Thing at a Time.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1876.
  22. "Only a Cat": or, The Autobiography of Tom Blackman, a Favourite Cat.  1 vol.  London: Routledge, 1876.
  23. Englefield Grange: or, Mary Armstrong's Troubles.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1876.
  24. The Lost Half-Sovereign: or, "Charity thinketh no evil".  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1876.
  25. Straight Paths and Crooked Ways: A Family Chronicle.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1878.
  26. Levelsie Manor.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1879.
  27. Mary Hazeldine's Desk.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1879.
  28. Harry Foster's Rules.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1879.
  29. Alice Brookfield's Trial.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1879.
  30. Robert Raikes and his Scholars.  1 vol.  London: Sunday School Union, 1880.
  31. Ethel Graham's Victory.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1880.
  32. Leyton Auberry's Daughters: A Tale.  1 vol.  London: Frederick Warne, 1880.
  33. Minatoo: or, Little Frankie's Bearer. A Story of the Indian Mutiny.  1 vol.  London: R. T. S., 1883.
  34. The Owners of Broadlands.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1885.
  35. Eva Grant's Escape.  1 vol.  London: Hodder and Stoughton, 1886.
  36. Mabel Berrington's Faith: and Other Stories.  1 vol.  London: Jarrold and Son, 1886.